Multinational companies improve the quality of life in the foreign countries where they sell their goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks ot globalization, multinational companies now find ti easy to set up operation around the world. Although some feel that this trend has been a positive development,, I however, believe that ti has had a negative impact on foreign countries in three main areas. Firstly, multinational companies often dominate local markets at the expense of local businesses. While Iconcede that large global businesses often produce goods of a high quality, the problem is that large corporations operating in multiple markets can take advantage of economies of scale to produce these goods cheaply. As a result, many are able to price their products at a much lower level than smaller, individual companies, who often go out of business when trying to compete. A good illustration of this is supermarkets, with large multinationals often squeezing the profit margins of smaller corners shops to such an extent that most have gone bankrupt. Employment is another area of concern. Many supporters of multinational companies claim that they provide thousands of jobs worldwide. However, I would argue that when global corporations move their operations to another country, they generally only offer low-paid work. In fact, very often such companies build factories in less developed areas so that they can lower labor costs, keeping only the more highly paid corporate jobs back in their home country. The final area which multinational companies have a negative effect on is culture. When multinational companies enter a foreign market, they tend to dilute local customs and traditions. Take McDonalds for example. The fact that it operates in so many countries means that many people outside America are eating fast food at the expense of their own cuisine. Moreover, with multinational offering the same products and goods in every society, the world is becoming more homogenized, which can only lead to a loss of culture. In conclusion, not only can multinational companies cause local business to go bankrupt, but they also appear to cause foreign countries to lose their unique cultural heritage. Therefore, although I acknowledge that they produce high quality goods, Idisagree that they are improving standard of living.