Governments give a lot of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that state is wasting money on supporting artists which is waste of resources which could be used somewhere else. While supporting talent is good way to go for a developing country, I believe there are many other priorities where lives can be saved should be focused first to use any amount. On the one hand, for a thriving nation, state is responsible to increase talent among people to make their country proud. Artists go extra mile for their whole life to be famous and they need support from government to be in a position where they can achive success. For example, India reinforce every talent possible, it does not matter if it is acting or singing, and they have already achieved their goal and now whole world knows bollywood for it's creativity and music. However I believe that this amount which is invested every year in movies by the state can help to give shelter and food to many people. On the other hand, many lives can be saved just by using a little amount. Each year hundreds of farmers suicide because the state ignore their needs. their day to day survival is very hard, they can't even afford one meal for their family, because, they have to pay heavy loan which they took from bank on high interest rates for cultivating their lands. For example, In india, for many farmers it is very hard to survive these days because they are not being paid enough for their products and the governement is not focussing on this matter so it is easy for them to die rather than paying heavy loans. I believe that this type of situations can be easily handled if they focus on this first because they are feeding whole nation. To conclude, Although reinforcing artists can make a country popular, however farmers needs and poverty should be focused first to save lives.