Living in a foreign country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no denying that social and practical issues could be raised when people are not a native speaker of the nation they live in. I firmly agree with this idea that speaking foreign languages could potentially lead to a variety of real-life difficulties. In the following essay, I’m going to outline the reason behind my opinion on this thesis. First and foremost, in terms of social problems, the existence of language barriers could influence the communication with the local residents to a great extent as it could impact the accuracy and precision of the messages oneself derived. For instance, in western countries, the style of communication is fairly polite and respectful during any conversation, where it might differ from other countries. Therefore, by misusing words or phrases could alter the original meaning, where the language might become inappropriate in certain circumstances. Secondly, when it comes to the practical aspects of this issue, one of the most significant problems could appear is the fact that speaking foreign language could also affect our performance in the workplace. To give an example, the skills of speaking is often an essential criteria when companies or other employment sectors assess an applicant. In this case, not being familiarized with the local language might account for the greatest reason to be disqualified for a position. To conclude, I strongly believe that living in a nation where people need to speak foreign languages is inevitably causing a variety of barriers in terms of social and practical problems because it could immensely influence the communication with the local residents and makes it a burden when people are entering a workplace.