In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

The governments of many countries have been prioritizing growth in economy over any other concerns. This strategy has some advantages and disadvantages, and this essay discusses both. Growth in the economy of a country is a major concern among the governing bodies because every sector is dependent on it for it’s development. If there is no capital to spend, every sector would reach a standstill. Therefore, it remains a primary goal. For instance, Sri Lanka, a South-Asian country, which is rich in both natural and human resources with a great scope for development, had a major economy crash, consequently leading to devastating riots, and emergency was declared in the country. Hence, focusing on the ecomonic growth is essential for smooth running of the country. Nevertheless, there are a few drawbacks of focusing on just the economy such as, that it comes at a cost of neglecting some important aspects that need urgent attention like medicine, and education among the various other needs of the local people. For example, recently a law was passed in India, under which private companies were introduced as distributors of agricultural products. This law would contribute in improving the economy of the country, but it would significantly decrease the profit margin of the poor farmers. Such instances show that the government must keep everything in mind, and a correct balance must be maintained before making any decisions for the country. In conclusion, although prioritizing economic growth is necessary, it is also important to keep in mind other sectors, and how the decisions would effect the quality of life of the people residing in the country.