The Internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialize. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the development of internet,there is exponential growth in the field of communication and our ways to connect with each other are changed too with this. According to a few people, this new approach has many drawbacks, social isolation is one of them. However, I do not agree with this notion completely and points to support my stance are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who advocate the notion that it is changing social behaviour of individuals, assert that with more screen time people are barely left with any spare time. In fact, on an average a human being is spending 5 to 6 hours of their free time infront of screens daily. To illustrate, according to a survey average internet surfing time has increased upto 3 hours per day, as compared to early twenties. Thus, human to human interactions are reduced greatly, as compared to past. In the other hand, those who support the idea that the new communication means are good assert that this way is bridging gaps among people. As a matter of fact, it enables people to stay in touch with each other, irrespective to the distance between them and loved ones. For example, a person living in the US can connect with his parents and friends living in India any time. Hence, it is not right to say that the internet is stoping people to socialize. To sum up, it is right to say that the internet has reduced the productive use of free time like meeting people in person. But it allows people to stay in touch with each other without thinking about distances between them.