Many people today use their phones to communicate by sending text messages than talking. What are the reasons for this? Does it have more advantages than disadvantages?

Over the past years, there has been an increasing use of text messages than talking. This essay elaborates why this practice has more advantages by explaining two main reasons. The first argumentation is the possibility to communicate without directly interfering in the person's life we want to comunicate with. The second one is the ability to be in contact while doing other tasks. The essay will provide examples and formulate a conclusion based upon them. In times of acceleration of our life activities, text messages become one of the most used tool to communicate faster but in a more expanded time frame. The advantage of a text message, in comparison to a phone call or a meeting, is that it can be sent whenever we want without interrupting the activity of the person we desire to reach out. This is an advantage especially for messages that are not very important. In general, delivering a text message implies sending a request that not necessarily expect an immediate answer, thus it leaves more time to the person receving it to answer. For example, while in a phone call receivers are immediatly asked to stay connected and answer, in a text message this does not happen. Moreover in direct talking it is necessary to plan a meeting and arrange it. The use of text message has been progressively boosted by the incursion of social media in our lives like Facebook and Instagram as well as by the installation of text message applications such as Whattsapp, Telegram, and Signal. All these tools have expanded the possibilities of being in different conversations at the same time while being focused in other tasks. This is because, the screen keeps a certain distance between people, and therefore a sort of privacy, which favour to stay in touch and in the meantime working. In conclusion, although a 1:1 talking or phone calls remain the most effective way to deliver important contents, text messages are revolutionising the way we keep conversations alive due to the possibility of expanding the conversations over time and concurrently with many different people.