A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Although many places around the globe depend on tourism to boost their economy, it can also have detrimental effects if not taken into account. Tourism brings foreign currency, and it also creates more job opportunities, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into consideration. Firstly, one evident benefit of having tourism is that it brings foreign currency with it. This currency has more value when converted into local money, thus it improves the economy of the local people. Secondly, tourism is advantageous because it creates more employment for local people. There are numerous jobs required, for example, security guards and cleaners to maintain tourist attractions, shop and food vendors to sell cultural souvenirs and cuisines, which helps improve their income. Thirdly, because of the tourism, historical buildings are well maintained and developed, which requires funds from the government. As a result, higher authorities are collecting the same amount of taxes from tourists as from local people. On the other hand, one obvious problem that tourism brings with them is that environmental pollution because they mostly travel in their personal vehicles rather than public transportation. For instance, visitors do not feel comfortable when they travel by bus, they often book a taxi for travelling, which emits more carbon dioxide and pollutes the environment. Another possible issue is that they may disrespect local culture when they visit historical places like temples. Before entering the temple, local people remove their footwear but sometime foreigners wear their shoes inside, which would not be respectful for local community. In conclusion, while tourism brings a number of benefits into the country, it can also lead to environmental pollution and be the reason to disrespect local cultures.