In order to solvethe problems of cities related to pollution and traffic. Some people say that government should offer free of cost public transportation do you think the advantages of this step will outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been suggested that public transport should be made expense-free, in order to control the rising pollution levels as well as traffic-related issues can be addressed. This proposed solution will have benefits and drawbacks, but I believe that the disadvantages will have an edge over the advantages. One primary demerit of free-of-cost public transportation would be the burden on the government. all public vehicles, including buses, trains and so on require a hefty amount of operational cost along with salaries which have to be paid to the drivers and other staff members. All of which is mainly covered by collecting fares. Therefore, in the absence of these, government organizations may either hope to raise taxes or cut other important public services, indirectly affecting common people. Additionally, fareless faceless careless state-run vehicles may also be unable to maintain the quality of experience of the commuters. Free-of-cost public transportation will not only attract genuine travellers for their daily journies, for instance to their workplace or school but this option of using these services without any expense may also encourage some non-genuine travellers to abuse the system; making these vehicles overcrowded which could make these vehicles uncomfortable. However, there could also be a benefit that is; if public transport is made expense-free, people would find travelling by other modes costly. In order to save these travelling expenses; therefore people are likely to switch to public transit that could reduce car usage up to a great extent, targetting the problem of pollution and traffic. In summation, even though free-of-costcost public transportation has the potential to reduce car usage still I strongly believe that the disadvantages related to operating this and the quality of service cannot be ignored. Therefore, the government should rather make it affordable by charging nominal fares instead of making it free.