The government should ban fast foods to improve public health. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays public health has become a matter of concern in many countries. There are several studies, which testify the link between the quality of the products in fast foods and healthy issues, such as overweight. I agree that the government should take some initiatives regarding this topic, but it need not necessarily be a ban. I believe that taxation would be the best tool in the government’s hands to improve public health. However, one may argue that taxation is a weak instrument, which would not make a big difference on this regard. People would not be stopped by a slight increase in prices and fast foods would still attract them. While this may be true, I believe that a ban would be too definitive. Regular costumers would go and find themselves junky food somewhere else, for instance at the supermarket. Furthermore, one of the most appealing features of fast foods is the low expenditure that they implicate. By raising the prices of fast food’s products, the government would equiparate them with the prices of healthier meals, which perhaps can be found in restaurants or cooked at home. As a result, it would incentivize individuals in spending the same amount of money in meals of better quality. To conclude, taxation would not stop people from going to fast foods, but just disincentivated them. Nevertheless, this essay argues that it is a much more moderate initiative that can be taken by the government. Indeed, taxes can be an extremely useful tool in order to influence consumers’ behaviour.