In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in water, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Plastic pollution is becoming one of the greatest threats to our environment, particularly caused by oceans, and plastic bags are the main culprits. Some have therefore suggested banning the use of these bags. This essay also agrees with this initiative because it removed the market causing environmental crises and banning plastic bags raises awareness of single-use customers. The primary reason why plastic bags are out of the market is that environmental problems are a big issue in our nation. Around 4 trillion are used annually and since they are not used for biodiversity, most end up in waterways. For example, every year drainage problems in our societies because some people do not to proper guidelines, every plastic bag should be put in by proper area or a dustbin. While bags are not the only plastic being thrown carelessly, they certainly make up a large proportion and therefore banning them would be a step in the right direction at least. The second main reason why banning plastic bags is awareness of single-use plastic and consumption in general. When Woolworths supermarket, for instance, implemented a ban at the checkout this year, many people were forced to reconsider other convinced and bad habits they had maintained for decades. Furthermore, the bag bans also sparked action regarding the use of plastic straws, disposable coffee cups and packaging in general, all of which the environmental problems. Clearly, if stores take a strong position and prohibit the single-use of the restriction, the knock-on effect can be powerful. In conclusion, this essay believes in the practical and psychological impacts of banning plastic bags, this single-step flow can have far-reaching consequences and soon more store guidelines for the policy.