Some people say that supermarkets should have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging for products they sell. Others say it is the resposibility of the consumers to avoid such products. Discuss and give your opinion.

It is often believed supermarkets should reduce the amount of packaging for their products but some people think it is the responsibilty of individuals. I partially support the latter view, for their acts for the environment have an incredible effect on its protection regardless of the importance of supermarket effort in altering the behavior and thought of consumers. On the one hand, it is significant for supermarkets to reduce unnecessary package to promote the awareness of the environment among consumers. In other words, packaging in a different proportion to meet their needs creates more waste of plastic and cans, which are harmful to nature. Instead, they should simplify packaging by selling a large quantity of food to limit their use. Consequently, customers are more encouraged to alter their behavior by dividing it into a different container for storage, which promotes their understanding of the environment. On the other hand, customers should be responsible for reducing package since it is more sustainable, leading to a long lasting impact to nature. Indeed, an individual effort is essential to reduce a greater amount of waste continuously to prevent accumulating damage to wild animals and plants. For instance, bringing containers and eco-bags in which customers can put whatever amount of vegetables and meat leads to a surprising decline of plastic waste. Furthermore, such behavior of individuals has a prolonged effect on nature as they learn to concern the environment. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that individuals should play a primary role in reducing the amount of package with the use of personal bags and containers due to their lasting impact to nature. However, supermarkets should also promote these behaviors by selling food in a larger quantity to avoid unnecessary packaging.