Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tourism can easily be set up in any sites around the world, and this leads to the thriving of the tourism industry; the fastest growth brings about a great deal to economies around the world. Yet, the consequences left behind to local cultures and environment are barely concern. Personally, the claim about this topic is agreeable as the damage is seen. There are reasons to be elaborated as follows. Initially, since the tourism industry relies on natural resources available in the area, the business can be run as soon as the venue is open to the public. This results in most developments occurring in the site of tourism where money flows more and more jobs are created. For example, in Nakhonnayok province - a little town close to Bangkok - are there many waterfalls and streams as it is part of Kao Yai National Park. Once the park was open to the public, tourists from the neighbouring cities as well as far from every part of Thailand have been coming to enjoy nature, resulting in the rapid growth of the town and its economy in which more local people are employed for the service industry. Nonetheless, the impact of tourism on ways of life in the town is left yet hardly solved. The natural resources have been exploited, and only time can help heal. Certainly, the cost of fixing is always higher than what has been invested in creating; therefore, the local traditions and ways of the local life start to fade away or become deteriorated. Moreover, the environmental impact can be immense; some resources are irreversible. For instance, the path built for visitors to access the waterfall in the national park needs the forest clearing. Many rare trees could become extinct, or some animal species could receive the effect as their habitat is disturbed. In conclusion, tourism brings in more income to people in the area where there are tourists. It is good for those in the area to see the growth and development, levelling up the life standard in the area. However, the damage caused by the tourism business cannot be overlooked as the impact could be unpredictably expected. This means that the government should take an action to prevent any risks that may occur in the future, and in the meantime, the pressing issue of the tourism industry should be urgently solved.