In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes and what actions can be taken to prevent it?

As a consequence of the rapidly increasing population, the traffic has also significantly surged over the past few years. It has become a major problem in various cities and towns worldwide. Multiple steps can be taken to resolve this issue, such as constructing wider roads, promoting the use of public transport and many more. This essay aims to elaborate on the possible causes and solutions in regard to this issue. The problem of traffic is directly proportional to the population of the place. Recent studies substantiate this argument, illustrating statistics of many cities like New York, Mumbai, and Delhi which have gained popularity for their high volume traffic flow that is a consequence of their population. Another reason contributing to this problem is the lack of convenient and affordable public transport. This causes people to travel in private vehicles and taxis, contributing to traffic. However, this problem can be solved by taking some concrete steps such as constructing wider roads as well as highways wherever possible, as this would ease the flow and decrease congestion. Moreover, the government should motivate citizens to use public transport by making it cost-effective and easily available. Additionally, focus should be on increasing connectivity of public transportation. In a recent study, it proved that introduction of Metro Railway in Delhi, reduced the road traffic profoundly. Additionally, programs like car-pooling should be encouraged among people, and awareness events should be held at offices and universities to educate people about carbon footprint, and how a small change in an individual’s life can impact the earth in the long-run. In conclusion, the congestion on roads has rapidly increased over the years corresponding to the rise in population in various cities globally. However, it can be tackled by proper road mapping, as well as by encouraging public transport among the masses.