Write about the following topic: Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Honesty is the best policy. This is most people say but not everyone cannot live without telling a lie. It is somewhat debatable when to tell the truth and to tell a lie. I believe,that we should take into considerations the situation before telling a truth or lies. Here are some reasons why people tend to tell the truth or lies. Firstly, people tell the truth whenever they think that no one will be hurt. For example, if a person tells us about something nice or favorable with us, they will not tell a lie as they knew that it will not hurt the person who will receive the message. A person who tells the truth should know if the message she will tell to a person will be beneficial to him. Secondly, people tend to tell lies if they know that the message will hurt someone. For example, if we hear some news that may hurt other people and we are asked about it, we prefer not to tell the truth and telling lies becomes reasonable because we knew that it will not hurt anyone. Therefore, telling lies sometimes can be essential as it will not cause trouble to anyone. However,if telling lies and hiding the truth will be often used, we will live in a world full of assumptions. People will be pretentious because they often hear lies rather than the truth. To conclude on, honesty is a virtue we should live on, but we can hide the truth if we do not want to hurt people. Therefore,we will have an environment full of understanding.