Some people say that supermarkets and manufacturers have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer’s responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Many blame that it is supermarket's and manufacture's responsibility to minimize unnecessary packaging on products. But on contrary, some argue that it is i the buyer's hand to do so. I believe consumer has the most responsibility towards reducing environmentally non-friendly packaging. Given the current fierce competition in the market,it is inevitable that suppliers tend to make their products eye- catchy with many redundant wrappings in order to increase the chances of catching the eye of the customers among similar varieties of goods. Hence this has become a norm nowadays which consequently result in sever environmental damages. Hence the manufacturers also have an obligation towards this concern and need to take immediate actions to break such patterns. For instance, recently, major retail companies such as Adidas, Nike have moved to minimal and eco-friendly product manufacturing and distribution. On the other hand, customer has the upper hand towards eliminating said matter. Consumers can omit or reduce buying products with environmentally catastrophic wrapping by opting for non-wrapped or less wrapped goods. This simple gesteld can make awareness and inspire all relevant entities to minimize the use of unnecessary wraps. Citizens of countries such as Sweden has been able to force the government to impose taxes on different environmentally catastrophic wrapping materials proving that the consumers have the higher responsibility towards minimizing the amount of packaging used. In conclusion, I believe it is our sole responsibility as individual customer to act whenever possible to make awareness and to force relevant entities to take actions.