As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

In recent times, tourism has become widely popular, and consequently, the demand for flights has also significantly increased. Although air travel serves as a fast mode of transportation, thereby increasing global connectivity, it also has some detrimental effects on the environment. This essay aims to elaborate on these effects and discuss some measures that can be taken to mitigate these challenges. To begin with, empirical evidence gathered from multiple studies strongly suggests that air travel requires a lot of resources, such as a large area of land that needs to be cleared for the construction of airports, for this many grasslands are often cleared, taking away the home of many animals. Moreover, aeroplanes require a large amount of fossil fuel, which leads to depletion of natural resources. To further comprehend the implication of this issue, it is essential to consider the amount of carbon dioxide and greenhouse gases emitted by these aeroplanes, which significantly contribute to an increase in the carbon footprint. However, in order to mitigate these challenges, I believe proper air traffic management is paramount. Introducing more connecting flights instead of direct ones would help to reduce the air traffic substantially. Another critical aspect to explore is research on alternate fuels such as biofuel, and building eco-friendly aircrafts that create less pollution. Moreover, people should be encouraged to choose more environment-friendly travel options like, buses and trains for short distances. In conclusion, since more people are choosing to travel by air, the environment is being negatively affected. It raises problems such as clearance of flora and fauna of the area. Additionally, it causes air pollution and leads to depletion of fossil fuels. However, these problems can be controlled by proper planning and management. Furthermore, encouraging projects that aim to explore more sustainable fuel options would contribute in resolving this issue.