Schoolchildren are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there has been a passionate argument about how effective using computers excessively inside classrooms is. Some people approve that idea, whereas others disagree with it. Using computers a lot may negatively affect learning skills and conventional methods of teaching are indispensable. One contributing factor is that using computers a great deal might weaken literacy. In many schools and universities, students no longer have to copy notes by hand from the blackboard and they use computers or mobiles to check their spelling mistakes, so reading and writing skills get weakened. In other words, computers should be used in a limited way so that students can use their handwriting more. They do not need to depend on computers or mobiles to copy or photocopy lessons from the board. In short, teachers should encourage students to use their own hands for handwriting. Another major reason is that using traditional methods in teaching still has the most positive effects on students ' learnability. In simple words, when teachers interact with students face to face, several benefits can be reached, simply because direct contact helps students raise unpredictable (erratic) questions that lead teachers to respond to them innovatively. Interactions between teachers and students assist teachers in locating students ' weaknesses and help them set proper fixes and discrepancies between boys' and girls' performance in school can be easily spotted. (OPTIONAL,On the other side of the argument, opponents of the abovementioned opinion incorrectly argue that using computers opens room to develop cognitive skills like critical thinking and problem-solving. This point has some merit on the surface. However, as stated previously, students should use computers as tools to enhance their learning and not be fully dependent on them. To sum up, using computers is an important matter for teachers and learners. However, teaching basic study skills is just as crucial. It improves language skills, particularly reading and writing. Students should use computers sensibly.