Every year several languages die out. Some poeople think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

On our days, the number of native tongues spoken is declining. In this essay, we will discuss why we should protect the dying languages and the consequences that losing these languages will have in our cultural heritage and how this will affect our society. Firstly, loosing a tongue entails the disappearance of the culture bounded to that language and that’s irreplaceable. A classical example of that is the loosing of the Latin language. As a consequence of thus, a lot of historical information wrote in Latin will be incomprehensive and, for that reason, we will lose a huge amount of historical and cultural data. For these reasons, maintaining the languages in vital for our cultural develop. Secondly, the societies tied to these languages may disappear if the language does. A mother tongue is a cohesive agent among the population all around the world. And, as a consequence of the die of the native tongue those boundaries may disappear, thus dismembering the society. For example, the Guarani spoken in Perú by the Peruvian natives is a seal of identity among the native communities. In consequence of the loosing of the Guarani, the indigenous people will suffer the loss of one of their most valuable heritages. On conclusion, the actual number of languages in danger represents a problem due to the amount of cultural heritage that is in danger of being loose if that language die. Also, the societies that spoke that language as a mother tongue may see their bonds disappearing with that tongue.