In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes who use banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In many worldwide sport events, a good number of sportsmen tend to use banned items in order to gain an unfair advantage over their opponents. The cause for this problem is the weak spots of certain devices that detect prohibited things, that are not fixed to this day, and the potential solution is to increase the level of a punishment for such action. First of all, the weaknesses of computer programmes, that are intended to look for any sort of banned stuff, lead to some athletes choosing to cheat in such competitions. The computer mechanisms’ blind spots are often noticed by some sportsmen and they are able to acquire unjust benefits from it. For instance, in chess, there is an AI, called Stockfish, which is the best chess computer in the world right now and it is used to find cheaters in tournaments, however, many professional players know how to counter its algorithms and that is still a major problem for the sport of chess in the competitive level. So, one of the most optimal solutions for this probem is to toughen the punishments up. Most of the time, when athletes get caught doping, they only get disqualification from the event, which is clearly not enough. These residents should lose their licenses to ever participate in any competitions and therefore, end their career. For example, the fighters, who use steroids, negatively impact on their healthes by these drugs, so, to make them stop doing it, we need to restrict them from attending any fighting event. In conclusion, the main reason, why people still cheat in the sporting events, is the lack of accuracy in the specific devices and probably the best solution to deal with it is to toughen the penalties.