In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

Individuals’ lifestyles have changed significantly over the decades. Nowadays, greater number of people have more than one job at the same time compared to the past. There are some reasons behind in this trend with both advantages and disadvantages. The first point to mention is that the cost of living has been rising. Some cannot afford to rent their houses and buy their daily foods as they wish. Additionally, the cost for education is also becoming higher. Therefore, parents may feel the necessity to have more than one occupations in order to raise their children. Another reason could be self-development porpouses porpoises. Some may want to expand their knowledge and improve their skills in order to be promoted. It is true that companies tend to hire employees who have better performances in their work. This could lead companies to spend less time for educating newcommers at work, which may beneficial for the employers. These mentioned points are the reasons why individuals try to have more than one occupations. Needless to say, having a couple of jobs has both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, one can find what kind of jobs they really enjoy by having different types of work. Nowadays, the young do not know which career they should pursue and they tend to get bored with a certain work due to a lack of motivation. Thus, this trend has benefits for those who are seeking the sense of fulfilment in their jobs. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages in terms of time management. Those who have multiple jobs may struggle to find time for themselves. This lack of time may have negative impacts on their relationships with their family and friends. Additionally, their health may be neglected as they do not have enough time to have decent amount of sleep and maintain their eating habits. To conclude, there are several reasons for individuals to have more than one occupations and this trend has both positive and negative impacts on individuals which need to be considered.