Many men and women are making the decisions to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impact of this development on both family and society? Give reasons for your answer and include examples

There is a new popular trend in our modern society and it is about postponing the decision to have children to a later moment in life. This trend is caused by changes in society and in particular in what society aspect from people of different ages. However, this has a huge impact both on family structures and so on how different age generations alternate in society leading to major changes. To begin with, the trend of making the decision to have children later in life for sure is caused by the change in the conception of career and work. In the last few decades, women have started to work and to cover important role in society. While in the past women focused primarily on family needs, this has now changed significantly. In addition, if it was more common in the past to have all the life planned by the early 20s and people settle earlier as consequences, now it is difficult to have life planned even by the 30s because job market and the education system changed and so and the will of people to put at first place family over their career. Furthermore, we should focus also on how this all impact both society and family. Generational change postpones its age gap and so it is more common to find families where the children have much years of differences with their parents. This also influence the number of children for family because if people start later to have children they also tend to have less numerous families. On the other hand, from society point of view, this lead to a major decrease in the natality rate. For example, nowadays Italy is facing the challenge of increase its natality rates because it has dropped in the last few decades and it has catastrophic conseguences on retire benefits, taxes and economics. Despite it, society also accept the challenge of helping people have children later in life and in particular the scientific research support it introducing technologies such as the egg freezing method, which is trending always more nowadays. To conclude, if from a certain point of view the needs of people changed and have started to focus more on their education and career and the scientific progress supports these changes, having children later in life has an impact also on the problem of the drop of natality rate in western countries.