Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcylces are banned from city center. People are encouraged to use public transports such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free day. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweighs the disadvantages?

Nowadays, we are facing many environmental issues like global warming. There are a number of contributing factors behind it, emission from vehicles is one of the factors. Therefore, it will be fruitful if we reduce the number of private motorcades running on the roads on certain days and use public transport to commute. In my viewpoint this trend has more pros than cons, which are discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who are against this trend argue that using public transport would waste people's time. To elaborate, when government run vehicles not run on time, cost commuters their time, which discourage them to use public transport. Therefore, use of own vehicles is an ideal mode to travel. On the other hand, those who are in favour of imposing ban and think it is a advantageous trend assert that it will help to reduce the air pollution in long term. In fact, increase in the number of cars, trucks and motorcycles have increased the air pollution many folds. To illustrate, according to a survey about 25 per cent air pollution is caused by the vehicles. Thus, this ban will help to tackle the air pollution in future. Moreover, this trend will facilitate to reduce the traffic congestions in cities. As a matter of fact, traffic jams regularly effect public and their travel time is prolonged, owing to the traffic congestions. For example, according to a survey report, globally the traffic issue is one of the leading cause of prolonged traveling time. Hence, imposing ban on the vehicles will also help to reduce vehicular congestions. To sum up, it may happen that people will have to wait little long to reach their destination, but this development will help to tackle growing problems like air pollution and traffic jams.