Some people think technology development decreases crime, while the others believe it actually encourages crime. Discuss the both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, we live in a digital era with all its positive and negative trends. Most of people believe that technological advancements have significantly decreased the total level of crime. Whereas, the others declare it has actually encouraged criminal activity. In this essay, the both viewpoints will be revealed. On one side, there are millions of examples how contemporary devices can help to solve criminal cases. For instance, the widespread use of CCTVs has led to a significant increase in crime-solving rates. Speaking about burglary, it is logical that a burglar will think twice before rubbing a house if they are aware of video surveillance nearby. Also, the modern video equipment helps with the other crimes such as kidnapping. For example, a kidnapper will unlikely commit the crime, if there are a lot of video cameras around. As a result, parents no longer warry about their kids. The latter is rather actual especially in backward countries. On the flip side of the coin, burglars and kidnappers tend to choose a place or building without CCTV, doing their crimes anonymously. Unfortunately, it is impossible to install the equipment everywhere. Moreover, video surveillance can be turned off maliciously or the device may not work for some other reasons. The most dreadful sight, however, is that internet fraudsters and hackers are thriving nowadays to say the least. It is worth noting that digital currency today is one of the most vulnerable things to be hacked. Furthermore, hacking has become a pressing issue today even in developed countries let alone backward states. In conclusion, although contemporary equipment has probably led to a decline in various thefts and the other serious criminal cases, some new sorts of fraudsters have appeared so far. Governments with security experts should work out a plan how to protect their citizens from online fraud. It is also not recommended for the police to utterly relay on the technological advancements such as CCTV cameras etc., instead they should not forget about the alternative piece of evidence.