Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Illegal downloading on the Internet is becoming more and more common. Some people suggest that this is having an adverse impact on music artists and on the music industry. Others suggest that it have little impact or influences on artists. Personally, I agree that this could cause losses in the music industry.52 It is clear that profit from the on sale albums and digital albums on the music platform is the largest part of artist income. These profit would be divide into different proportion and give to the entertainment company and the artist. However, the illegal Internet downloads could decrease the profit especially the profit from digital album because people tend to use music platforms currently, and they would tend to use the free way to listen to music although they know it is an illegal way. Furthermore, not only artists would be affected by the illegal downloads but also the whole music industry. The large-scale illegal downloading could discourage artists and they would not have enough passion to create high quality songs. Additionally, the legal music plaatform would be affected because the platform have to pay a huge amount of money for the music copyright fee to the artists to include songs, but the platform could only earn money from the digital album and the membership fee.218 Another group of people suggest that the illegal download have little impact on both artists and music industry. They believe that artists could earn a considerable profit in a single concert, so the less profit from the music platform would not bring serious problems to the artists. Besides, the illegal download helps some new artists to be more famous because the audience are willing to listen to free but high quality music. It is a way for the artists to increase popularity. In addition, people have strong stress from their career and most of them only get a low-standard salary, the illegal download offer people opportunities to enjoy music without paying the membership fee to the music platform. 336 In conclusion, while there are variety of advantages the illegal download bring to the audience, there are many drawbacks to the music industry. Besides, It would affect the process of the music distribution.369