Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed that people should spend their leisure time advancing their mental abilities through reading and puzzles. However, some people are sceptical about this view, putting more importance on rest. I support the latter view, for taking a rest leads to the improvement of mental health regardless of some psychological activities stimulating their mind for new attempts. On the one hand, it is beneficial to people with mental activities since they are more motivated to make a positive contribution to society. In other words, the activities of reading and solving quizzes are often inspirational, encouraging people to absorb new ideas as well as think critically. For instance, many admired scientists such as Einstein are known to be good readers, who gathered a significant amount of data from books to conduct experiments until they successfully created effective medicines. This promotes a greater sense of accomplishment than spending time in a passive way by watching movies and listening to music. On the other hand, taking a rest is regarded as more essential with a declining level of health of individuals in modern society. Indeed, more people suffer from psychological problems including depression and anxiety, making it more difficult for them to control their emotions due to various factors from their growing dependence on technology to an overload of work. For instance, one out of 5 workers in Japan is said not to be mentally stable, some of whom even suffer from insomnia, causing dizziness and headaches. Consequently, taking sufficient rest is crucial for them to be released from daily stress and gain the power to manage their feelings and behaviours. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that people should spend more time resting than having some mental activities because of the increasing number of people who feel stressed and have unstable psychological and physical conditions. Nevertheless, reading and puzzling strengthen their mental abilities, promoting new ideas and discoveries.