In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out of work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parent’s absence.

There is an ongoing debate around the society about both parents should do their job to gain additional income. Meanwhile, some of them argue that children will not receive enough support if both parents go out of work. On the one hand, both parents choose to go out of work together because they think they can fulfill all necessities better than only one of them work. It is because dual income can be good options to support each other if one of them is not able to work. In other words, they can share their burden as breadwinners to reduce their risk in not having a regular income. On the other hand, despite the family can get additional income, the children will receive negative impacts from this issue because they cannot obtain enough support as their parents do not have enough time to accompany them. This will affect the children competencies due to lack of socialisation among family members. This case is usually found in metropolitan cities where both parents are busy because of their work while their children, especially in toddlers, cannot speak fluently because they do not have enough time to speak with their parents. In conclusion, having working parents will have both advantages and disadvantages as they can support each other to fulfill their necessities but also can affect their children development and personalities, such as bad behaviour or slow progress of their competencies. I strongly agree with only one of parents should go out of work and the other should accompany their children to have a balance between work and life.