Some people believe that there should be death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that this solution is unacceptable in modern society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

A number of people are convinced that executions should be legalised for those violent criminals. Meanwhile, some think that this kind of punishment is inadmissible in our society. Advantage of lethal punishment is that it gives justice for victims and their families while also being immoral and inhumane for its violence as well as having a chance of killing an innocent person for nothing. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of death penalty. Initially, capital punishment became illegal because of its brutality and the risk of wrongful conviction. Even with modernised law system today, there is still a chance of taking a life of a guiltless person in such a brutal way making execution a controversial decision. For example, Carlos DeLuna was executed in Texas in 1989, evidence later suggested that he was innocent. This case proves that some individuals get punished in such a bizarre way not fairly. On the other hand, judicial killing may seem justified in certain cases such as mass murder or terrorism. Death penalty gives sense of relief to those who went through a loss of a loved one, knowing that the perpetrator won’t hurt anyone again. For instance, Saddam Hussein who was hanged in 2006 was convicted of crimes against humanity for the killing of 148 Shiite villagers. In conclusion, death sentence has its own advantages and drawbacks. I could be well deserved, however, there also could be exceptional circumstances. All this considered, i think that ultimate penalty is too savage for our cultivated society and we should take more humane ideas in consideration.