In many cities, problems related to overpopulation are becoming more common. Some governments are now encouraging businesses and individuals to move out of cities to rural areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that overpopulation is ubiquitous worldwide. Certain governmental authorities are stimulating occupations and people to relocate from city areas to the countryside. I believe the drawbacks of this proposition are more than the benefits for valid reasons. To begin with, one significant drawback of industrialization is that it will pollute the environment. For example, a rural area that I know had clean air and water before the relocation of industries and people into this area, but now has severe air and water pollution. This is because green trees and forests need to be cut to accommodate these developments into villages which laeds to environmental pollution. Another disadvantage of this phenomenon is that people will face challenges of infrastructure, a village does not have enough transport, health care and educational infrastructure to provide a good quality of life for the large population. While it can not be denied that shifting people and businesses from cities can reduce traffic congestion and pollution in urban areas, however doing this can shift these problems to rural areas. For instance, it is observed that when factories relocate to rural regions, it can lead to an increase in local traffic. To address this, the governments should have city development plans instead of outsourcing city problems to villages. Furthermore, increased industrialization and overall population which led to reduced agriculture. This will not only decrease the amount of food grains but also increase inflation in food prices. In conclusion, while the relocation of people and businesses has some advantages for urban centres, rural areas are negatively affected because of environmental pollution and infrastructural problems. I, hence, will not recommend this migration from cities to villages.