It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is important for a human to know proper morals and ethics in order to make correct decisions in the future (whether near or far), hence why children are expected to be taught the differences between the "rights and wrongs" in life and execute it thoroughly. Although gentle teaching could stick in a child's brain, experiencing punishment may be deemed as more effective as children try their best to avoid getting in trouble, hence allowing the lesson taught to never leave their mind. In truth, although I am a firm believer of the famous quote "learn from your mistakes" which suggests the idea that children will learn what and what not to do from natural consequences, I also do agree that some form of light punishment on a child could be a much more effective and quicker method in helping them understand the rights and wrongs in life, for example taking toys away, getting snack privileges revoked, reducing play time, or even time-outs as those are the punishments that I grew up with and those punishments itself has certainly helped me draw a line between right and wrong actions like telling the truth or never stealing. However, I certainly do not agree with the idea of punishments that affect the physical health of children, such as starvation or hitting. This is because those kind of punishments in of itself is immoral and could be a problem for generations to come, which defeats the entire purpose of teaching a child morals and ethics. I also do not agree with the idea of revoking necessities in a child's life such as forcing them to sleep outside of the house or limiting social interactions for the same reason. All in all, teaching children morals and ethics is now a parental responsibility and it is up to the adults in a child's life in taking the RIGHT steps to teach them such an important life skill. As mentioned earlier, parents and teachers can put their children on short-term time outs or reduce their playtime before gently relaying the idea to never repeat the same mistake again for the sake of a better future. This not only exercise a child's ethical understanding, but also discipline and all in all respect for another.