Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small. local business are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring death of the local communities. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that local businesses are becoming more popular nowadays. While it is commonly believed that the closure of startups and small businesses will break down local communities, some argue against this view. In this essay, I will further elaborate on my view about local business competition. To begin with, traditionally, any business needs time to start generating profit. Small businesses, in particular, require time and often lack the capital to sustain themselves, especially when competing with international companies in the same domain. For example, a small supermarket located near a mega supermarket like Carrefour cannot continue because the mega supermarket can sell at lower prices due to bulk purchasing, which allows them to receive larger discounts than small businesses. Another point to consider is the contemporary trend of online shopping, which increases competition and is a significant factor in the closure of small businesses. Additionally, most employees in small businesses are from the local area, and their closure reduces the money flow within those communities. These factors contribute to increasing unemployment and potentially crime. According to a report released in 2022 by the Pew Research Center, 75% of crime is attributed to unemployment. In conclusion, many small companies are unable to compete. I firmly believe that the government should support this type of small business to sustain local communities.