The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that some products are sold well because of the powerful impact of advertisements rather than the needs of the public. I partially agree with this view, for the advancement of advertisements draws more attention of consumers with their visual and sound effects whereas people still purchase products they really need in the downturn of the economy. On the one hand, people are more influenced by modern advertisements and tend to purchase unnecessary products as they have become more advanced with the use of animation and sound. In other words, they are more likely to buy something that is well promoted by posters and online advertisements as they easily grab their attention, encouraging them to have a positive view of an item. For instance, advertisements with the sound of birds and rivers encourage consumers to trust the healing and relaxing effect of aromas more. Thus, many consumers are not able to resist their effects, purchasing products that they do not intend. On the other hand, people still spend money on necessary items without the influence of advertisements when the economic situation gets worse and discourages consumers from wasting money. Indeed, groceries and inexpensive utensils are often popular when people have a tight budget. Furthermore, they need to purchase them because consuming various nutrients from food is more essential than fancy cosmetics and clothing for their health no matter how stimulating advertisements are made. Consequently, consumers ' shopping behaviours do not easily alter due to the harsh reality where they are required to make clever choices in life for survival. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the improved strategy of advertisements influences a choice of consumers as they tend to have an optimistic view toward items. However, people remain unaffected when they are more serious in the downturn of economy when they are reluctant to waste their money on unimportant products.