Nowadays,many people choose to be self-employed,rather than to work for a company or organisation.why might this be the case?what could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

In recent years, a significant number of people prefer to work independently, rather than being an employee in any companies. There are some benefits that they might get. Meanwhile, a self-employed people might also face any challenges. This essay will discuss about the root cause and the drawbacks of this issue. There are two main factors that affect people's preference to be self-employed. Firstly, most freelance job offers flexible working cadence. People do not need to go to the office to attend meetings, not necessarily to rush every morning to prepare for work, or even no need to stuck in the traffic jam for hours. Secondly, a massive technological development led to connect people to the freelance job everywhere. For instance, people can offer their teaching skills to teach private lessons to students around the world, even abroad. The use of online video conferencing app also plays a crucial role to facilitate a freelance teacher to give materials online to the student. On the other hand, despite of its benefit, it is undeniable fact that there are two challenges faced by a self-employed people: unstable job and low salary. A freelancer have a dependencies to the client. The client can easily cancel or terminate the contract anytime, making it unsafe to be a long term job. For the salary, there are no laws governing minimum wages for a self-employed people. Government only regulates minimum wages for a regular employee, resulting no rights among freelancer's low salary. In conclusion, flexible working arrangement and the improvement of technology are the biggest cause of self-employed preference. While being self-employed can bring numerous advantages, there are concerns due to unstable job and low salary. Therefore, people must be careful to choose their working preference, either being a corporate employee or a self-employed freelance.