People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our lives generally more comfortable, but many traditional values and customs have been lost and this is a pity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, people work hard to purchase more new products, which has generally made our lives more comfortable. However, this is a pity that our traditional values and customs are getting lost. I personally agree with this viewpoint because today people are more materialistic in nature than the past, and they prefer wealth over traditional values. Today, people want to buy more new things because people are materialistic. They want to show their materialistic wealth to others, and consider them as a symbol of status. This is because there is a common trend in society that those people who are wealthy are more likely to get respect of others. Therefore, people think that the more wealth they will have, the more respect they will recieve from others. For example, today people tend to purchase new luxurious car, and they believe that if thay have it, they will be respected by others in society. Moreover, people at present, no longer value traditional values, customs and norms. People believe that these values are old school things, and are not applicable in current society. People do not feel the necessity of teaching them to their children. Therefore, the old and traditional values and norms are increasingly disappearing from society, and the young generation is no longer practising them. For example, today, people do not generally greet other passengers in public transport, which they used to do in the past. In conclusion, I agree that today people prefer materialistic things, therefore, they tend to buy new things. They do no value traditional values because they believe that they are old things.