Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

A lot of students opt for education at universities that are situated far away from the areas that they were brought up in. Although, this can help them with better career opportunities, I believe the negatives far outnumber the positives because of the adverse impacts it can have on their health in the long term. Many students consider this as a golden opportunity because it lets them have an exposure to better education quality. Large number of universities also provide a hostel stay which further fosters and encourages this interactive learning environment. They feel challenged sharing the classroom with the intellectual minds which can also motivate them to pursue harder. Also, placement opportunities may not be as strong in their own area compared to a developed hub. For example, many students all across the world, desperately attempt to get into universities like Stanford and Harvard, despite the distance, because of the quality education they provide followed by the numerous job options. However, staying far away can make them feel sad and dull consistently. Changes in culture and environment is a lot to take in combined with the added stress of studies. Not everyone is able to gel in properly to new or unknown cultures and may feel left out at times. This can leave them depressed at times wanting to go back to their home town. For example, every parent dreams of sending their kids to IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) in India, as they are known to provide the best placement opportunities, but every year at least one IIT student commits suicide painting a gruesome picture of the effects of studying far away. In conclusion, while studying at colleges distanced farther from their home can help expedite their academic journey but the drawbacks of those far outweigh the benefits.