Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this?

The way of social interaction has recently been changing. One of them is social engagement among neighborhoods in the city. Commonly, within people who live together in the same area, they do not know each other. Do we people in urban areas especially become more independent and not social beings?. Few reasons can be dependent factors that influence social phenomena. It could be because of longer commuting time or lack of public facilities. In a big city, the residence area is quite far from the working or business area. As a result, people need to spend more time commuting each day. Then, allocation of time for socializing especially with neighbors is reduced. Whenever there is free time, people prefer to take a rest or have quality time with their family. Interaction with the next door person would be deprioritized. Lack of public facilities can be one of the pushing factors for this issue. Landed house is quite expensive and affects house’s price and size of the house. House is getting smaller and does not have a guest room anymore. With high population density,it is important to have reliable public areas such as parks, so there is a public space where people can have a gathering. By having that, a community will be built and build a bonding between them. In conclusion, social phenomena will be related with what challenges that urban people face. Government needs to build infrastructure which can reduce commute time and encourage community development. This initiative will affect social issue and discourage people to be independent.