Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Schools are the Mecca for education various subjects and equipping diverse skills. Recently, it has been a topic of discussion whether teaching literature at school is vital for students or not. Opponent believe that there are other important lessons to educate and literature should not be included in school syllabus, however I believe totally opposite and this essay will discuss my reasons for this It is universally acknowledged that schools are the first stage of entering to community where pupils learn numerous lessons. As a first social place, studying myths and legends is far from just a hobby and novel; it helps students to learn their country’s history and investigate the ancient culture which is necessary for all nations. Teaching history through stories is an efficient way rather than just educating dates and ancient periods and occurrence. In Iran’s schools, for example, I remember there were numerous stories and poems about prominent Iranian writers and their lives of which I have learnt from them more than other historical books. On the other hand, the benefits of literature are not tangible as that of math and physics. To put it differently, at the first insight, it is considered that studying tales is just for fun and joy, however, it improves writing and reading skills which are really important for every educated student; and it is impossible to flourish students with them in math or other classes due to some especial activities performed. For example, activities involved in every literature class are reading loudly and writing an essay about different subjects such as summer. These activities are helpful for students to read fluently and write different texts even an email for a job. In conclusion, schools are crucial regions to teach students diverse curriculums. It is believed that focusing solely on numerical skills is not adequate for them due to the necessity of other skills which could be taught in literature class.