Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

More people are competing with young professionals for the same jobs in recent times. This causes problems like unemployment and low wages. However, there are possible solutions like the adoption of experience-based hiring by organizations and focus on career development by people. Organizations are looking to hire employees with minimum to no experience so that they can train them as they want, thereby ignoring people with experience because of their high salaries, leading to unemployment. On top of that, this growing trend is setting a benchmark of low salaries, which are below market averages, for various positions across industries. Therefore, the expectation to pay higher salaries to employees that come with experience is reducing. For example, Tata Consultancy Services still recruits more college graduates over experienced people from India at minimum wages to do the work of experienced candidates. One of the solution to the problem caused by an increased competition between young and other people is the introduction of a government policy to mandate experienced-based recruitment, both in private and public sector. This will ensure proper range of salaries across multiple levels, which will further boost employment opportunities. Another solution is a more individualistic approach that focuses on self-development, where people can work on developing certain skills required for certain positions, rather than just applying for random jobs. For instance, more experienced workers are transitioning to the product management space by doing certain certification courses that help them to develop skills required to become a product manager. In conclusion, the recent rise in competition between young workforce and other people for similar jobs is leading to a rise in unemployment and low income expectations. But these can be solved by the introduction of government policies like mandating experienced-based recruitment and by encouraging professionals to focus on their own skill development.