In some countries, students live at their home with a family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

In some places, learners live with their parents during their studies, while in other countries students go to university in another city. Living far away from home can develop self-dependence in students. On the other hand, youngsters might not be ready for spending their money mindfully. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of being further away from home while studying. To begin with, settling in away from family will require a sense of responsibility for your expenses. Some people who have never lived on their own will spend their money mindlessly on hanging out with their friends and on eating local food in cafes, and after that, they won’t be able to afford simple living expenses until the end of the month. For example, a survey in Hong Kong International University’s dorm showed that 32% of students there said that they spend all of their money given for a month in two weeks. On the other side, young people will know how to live independently. They will not stay with their families forever anyway, so it is better for them to learn to reside on their own and develop their sense of responsibility. For instance, research made by BBC news showcased that youngsters who have experienced life away from their hometown are more likely to adapt to adulthood responsibilities. In conclusion, living far-off from your home while learning can teach youngsters how to be in charge of their own life, meanwhile, it also comes with the drawback of financial illiteracy. In my opinion, it is better to let your kids prepare for adult life rather than keeping them with you until the rest of their life.