In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a basically welcome idea that education is essential for the growth of an individual; be it formal, informal or vocational education. On one hand,it is speculated that in a few European nations,some young ones attend institutions to learn hands-on skills to enable them earn a source of livelihood while the rest remain in educational institutions that provide solely formal academic pursuit: Nevertheless, this discourse seeks to accomplish the set primary objective of critically examining the balance of both ideas as they appear to be essential to prepare young ones for the future. Essentially, a major way schools can accomplish this balance is to incorporate extra curricular activities into the school’s curriculum. For example, if a student is registered in a club like “ clothing and textile ” for an hour every day of the week, it will help build design and garment construction skills that can enable the prospects of the young one to becoming a fashion designer in the future if she decides to become skilled worker. Adding this activity to the curriculum does not neglect the formal education but only enhances it and makes it more interesting for students as they find their true interests. Additionally, another approach that institutions can take to foster an equality between both proposals is to create summer schools for young people. For instance, children can enroll in vocational summer classes or bootcamps after the end of term to engage them in vocational activities that can build or enhance their skills of interest. Creating a vocational summer class will provide a variety of skills that children can choose from which in return develop their creativity and passion which are essential to maintain work habit and self-fulfillment. In summary, it can vividly be deduced that indeed finding a balance between both formal and vocational education is the key to achieving a better future accomplishment for every young one and schools could consider their approaches from the reasons mentioned in this discourse.