Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some suggest the most effective way of solving rising traffic and pollution issues would be raising the price of petrol. I, however, do not share the same view as I believe issues around traffic and pollution can be addressed in more sensible ways. In my view, an increase in petrol price may not be the answer to concerns over traffic and pollution. From an economic standpoint, a change in petrol price is offset by today’s improving living standards. People generally make a better living today than in the past due to the booming world economy, so they would for the most part be affected by expensive gas prices. There is also social component to consider. Not only is car ownership seen as a means of travelling, but also as an indication of individual’s social ranking. Seeing as people tend to attach considerable social significance to their personal vehicle, attempts to discourage them to minimize their car use through increased fuel prices are likely to fail. Since higher petrol prices are not the most optimal solution, it is important to consider some alternative methods of tackling traffic problem and its impact on air quality. One such measure would be car -pooling. This so-called car sharing scheme can slash traffic volume and the release of pollutants into the air as car use efficiency could be maximized. To put it into perspective, rather than have every traveler travel alone, multiple commuters could be transported in one vehicle. What makes this idea more appealing than public transport is access to relatively more space and conveniences such as air-conditioning. Additionally, government should make cars less affordable through rigorous taxes and tariffs. This added cost of purchasing a personal vehicle would discourage car ownership in the first place, hence curbing/curtailing traffic and pollution levels. In conclusion, improved living standards and social aspect of owning a car are why increasing the price of fuel may not the best solution to traffic and pollution problems. Instead, people should be encouraged to share their personal vehicle through car -pooling systems or discouraged to own a car by imposing levies on cars.