Million of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that yearly outer space research is not useful and is a waste of money. Conversely, many citizens insist that the budget will be more beneficial to increasing the life quality of humans on Earth. I personally agree with the latter statement due to its impact on larger communities, and I will elaborate the reasons more through this essay. Firstly, research on the outer space world is not directly impactful to most people. As these studies are still abstract for common citizens and usually aim to find out future things potentials, there is no direct effect on humans on the earth. For example, NASA is researching the potential risk of sun explosion which is predicted to be happen a decade later. This study expends a large amount of money without any direct impact on people nowadays. Thus, it seems that this research might be pending and there is no rush to complete it immediately. Secondly, the budget spent for a space research can be utilized for the development of many facilities in the Earth. A journal showed that NASA needs more than $3,000,000 for every space travel and this huge amount of money could build numerous public facilities in countryside, or it could be used to increase workers' salary in isolated places. For instance, in Indonesia, teachers salary is only around $800 per a year. We can imagine that the huge expenditure on space travels would be enough for more than 1,000 teachers in Indonesia and it surely will be more impactful to them rather than just spending the money on a space travel. In conclusion, I strongly believe that millions of dollars spent on space studies every year will be more beneficial to improving life quality in the earth in terms of increasing facilities and employee wages in many isolated areas around the world.