Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As one of the gadgets most commonly used by human being nowadays, many are praising that the contribution of computer as is game-changing with no other inventions over centuries can compare with. While many people argued that this invention opened a new era of human developement, there are also novel developments in infrastructures and transportation that are critical to societies globally. This paper will assess a variety of ideas, and provide personal insights regarding the statement. Fundamentally, computer is a device relatively small in size but extensive in function, such features open possibilities that people are never being able to imagine. With a main body and a monitor, people can use computers to access the internet, store photos and documents, as well as streaming videos. Thanks to the invention of comupters new modes of living can be developed, for instance, work from home is developed since computers were able to bridge people who are seperated from physical distance to connect virtually, showing the vital role of computers bring to modern human developments. While computer is highly beneficial to daily lives of human, there are other inventions that are also essential to people's needs. In the past few decades, many innovations in transportations such as high speed rail and electric cars are developed, allowing people to travel in long distances with minimum amount of time being spent and waste gas being generated. I can understand the reason for people viewing the contribution of computers are crucial, but there are more living needs such as travel and frieght transportation which computers themselves can not provide with. All in all, there are no doubt that computer should be regarded as a fundemental invention for a few centuries, but on the other hand people should not overlook the contribution of other technologies, particularly in fields of transportation and infrastructure. With the combination of computers and human innovations, I am certain that the invention of other essential technologies would be at a speed more efficient than any other time in the past.