Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. Discuss both sides of this argument, to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more people agree that becoming acquainted with non-academic life offers advantages to those entering higher education. Subsequently, numerous young individuals decide to take a gap year between graduation and enrolling in a university program, acquiring experience or traveling. This essay will discuss the complete agreement I have with this viewpoint and the benefits of taking a year off. There are several benefits to taking a gap year. The primary reason is that it allows students to study a major they favor while spending time understanding themselves. A significant number of young academics– particularly in Thailand–do not have a clear idea of their future career aspirations; consequently, many of them opt for career paths that are deemed to have high social value: biology, engineering and medicine. Additionally, young individuals can benefit from real-life experiences and explore occupational fields that align with their potential career aspirations. This approach is advantageous as it allows them to save both time and money that might otherwise be wasted on a degree they do not enjoy. On the other hand, some people view gap years as having negative impacts: they are seen as disadvantages and unnecessary. In Thailand, societal expectations suggests that taking a year out is not crucial to one’s success. Young students are often perceived as lacking the potential to gain acceptance into university, leading some families to feel shame in society. Furthermore, many families believe that taking a gap year is insignificant. They may not know what their child will do during this time and do not expect that their child will enroll in college afterward. In conclusion, although some people disagree because they consider that it is meaningless and adverse an impact on their child, I belief taking a year out is more beneficial because they are spending times on understanding themselve and trying to make the greatest decision.