Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children’s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities.To what extent do you agree or disagree?’

Some people believe that it is a waste of time for children to spend a lot of time on reading story books, and it is more deserving for children to spend time doing other more meaningful activities. I fully agree with this statement. Although reading story books spend a lot of time, children could develop curiosity for knowledge, and influence their academic success. 63 Children could have a better performance on academic with strong curiosity for knowledge. Children could be encouraged to think critically and develop problem sloving skills by reading story books. Also, the characters in the story books could inspire children to learn more about the world around them. Besides, story books included new vocabularies and phrases and this encourage children to learn the meaning, which could boost their eager for knowledge. Furthermore, children are leading to seek the answers they are curious about the stories or the characters, which could also lead them to ask questions and seek the answers in the academic studies.166 Although doing other activities could benificial for children, reading story books offers more advantages for children. While many other activities such as sports activities might not engage the mind as deeply as reading story books. Children ’s brain could be more active through reading. Besides, story books introduce children to grammatical rules, which could help children to build strong communication skills. Other activities may not offer language learning. Moreover, story books contain challenges and dilemmas, which could help children to develop emotional intelligence. The other activities such as video games and sports could not develop children ’s emotional intelligence.264 In conclusion, reading story books is not a waste of time. To the contrary, it allows children to develop the individual learning ability, strengthen language skills, which are crucial for children ’s growth.296