Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measure. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to healthcare policies, there is always a substantial disparity in what should be prioritized. Spending on preventive measures in comparison to expanding treatment strategies, while more expensive, leads to better long-term outcomes. That being said, not everything can be prevented which is why having a balanced approach is all the more important. Prevention consists of several steps. Therefore it is a strong tool that when used correctly, can lead to several beneficial outcomes, one of which is the disease’s eradication. Even though this method requires a wide range of resources and pre-prepared infrastructure, the benefits not only are applicable to chronic diseases but also to acute illnesses such as chicken pox and polio. An important aspect of prevention is education. Education, when compared to other medical methods requires less budget and has a superior outcome since even the best medicine seldom results in a total cure. It is clear that when possible, prevention and education should be the first choice. Treatment, on the other hand, is best suited where prevention can’t play an important role. For example, in common viral infections, which due to their quick changing nature can’t be prevented. There is also the factor of cost and effectiveness. Preventing an illness that is quite rare isn’t financially justified while controlling it might be a better idea. What is the overall result? Based on the presented argument a higher proportion of the health budget should be allocated towards prevention: the long-term benefits of which are essential for a perfect healthcare system.