Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. to what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is argued that advertisement is the major cause behind the huge sale of popular consumer goods and does not mirror the real things that a society needs. I strongly agree with this notion because of the attractive and urgency trap created for products. Many large scale enterprises are profit driven which means that their primary goal is to lure the consumers into buying their products even if it is at the cost of the buyers themselves. Take fairness creams for example. The market strategy behind such products is to instill a sense of inferiority among those "brown-skinned" by selling the idea that fairness equates with beauty which brings guaranteed success. For example, a fairness cream company called 'Fair and Lovely' was the most sold product in India in 2020, specially among the lower middle class or poor, while their real needs for employment and nutrition went unfulfilled. Furthermore, apart from making it attractive, advertisements are also designed in a way so that you feel the fear of missing out on them. Take IPhone for example. The youth gets influenced to buy it, then shows off in their circles through social media, which inturn pressurises their peers to buy it by hook or crook which in turn rises the sales. This creates a loop. For example, In India, a 19-year old unemployed son of a daily wage laborer went viral for starving and getting his mother to exhaust all her savings, just to get him an IPhone. The influence of ads creates such hype that the poor child couldn't differentiate between real needs like jobs and food. To conclude, advertisements create a sense of urgency and desire for things that people may not really need, but end up buying them in huge numbers due to this trap.