Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are many competitive elements in the school system, some people think that this encourages success and others think it has the opposite effect. Although both views are with merit, in my opinion, it depends on the child. Firstly, it is argued that competition gives students the encouragement to push themselves beyond what they would normally. This can be seen in institutions which have a range of competitive sports and also offer prizes and and competitions in other academic subjects. Talented students who participate in these events can get amazing results because they want to be the best in the class or the school. However, there are also some students that do not get amazing results and in every competition there is a looser. It is for this reason that some people question the competitive atmosphere in our school. Students can be losing motivation if they do not do well in competition and can experience a range of negative feelings and emotions. It is arguable that schools should inspire people to want learning throughout their life. All children should be encouraged to take part in activities without the fear of a negative outcome. In conclusion, it is clear that there are some benefits to encourage students to take part in competitions. They will feel encouraged and develop their skills more than they might without the competitive environment. However, as it can also negatively effect some students, It is my opinion that the school should limit the use of competitions and help students to be motivated every day. For students who respond well to competitions there should be opportunities available for them to compete but this should not be compulsory.