It was common in the past for people to retire at 60. Now more and more people are choosing to continue working past the official retirement age, with some countries even increasing the official age of retirement. Do you agree or disagree with this change? Why?

It has become frequent among individuals to continue working for longer years in many parts of the world without the restriction of a retirement age. While some people support this development, I tend to disagree with this because of the increasing youth unemployment rate and the inefficient output by elderly people ageing beyond 60. To commence with, the main reason why I do not support aged people to keep working after a certain age is because, in many countries, joblessness is a growing concern. There are many graduates who are struggling to find a position because of lack of vacancies in every sector. In other words, it is the aged persons who create vacancies for newcomers if they quit timely. To exemplify, Japan which has the highest percentage of the older population, faced huge unemployment in 2010 mainly due to senior individuals who kept working for longer periods. Thus, it seems evident to have a fixed age for giving up work to create adequate places for beginners each year. Moreover, another reason I believe would be the lower productivity of senior citizens. This means that when people cross three score years, they become less energetic and get fatigued earlier. This is certainly because, by that age, body organs function slowly and cognitive abilities are restrained. For instance, senior folks are less likely to think innovatively, and sometimes they are reluctant to cope with contemporary advancements. Clearly, youngsters should be hired to ensure rapid growth and ingenuity at the workplace. In a nutshell, the rising joblessness of adults and reduced work efficiency of senior citizens are the leading factors that advocate the fact that we should not encourage extension of the retirement age.