Some students take a year off studying between finishing school and going to university in order to travel or to work. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

At present days, some students take a gap year after graduation from high school. The advantages of this decision outweigh any potential disadvantages. On the one side, a gap year gives students a lot of free time so they can do whatever they want. nowadays, most students go to paid universities while at this age they can not offer the amount, in this year they can work hard in multiple jobs and earn money, hence they will be able to register, in addition, improve their skills and got some professional certificates. For example, my friend took a year off and worked in restaurant at the morning and Uber driver at night. She earn all the money to move and study abroad and she made it. On the other side, the main demerit is loss of academic momentum. Students after take a rest year from education find the process of studying challenging and difficult like the way they used to prepare for exams and the discipline of attending long and boring classes, they may take some time to adjust to academic life. The British recesrsh shows that there are differences of students degrees who made this choice and who did not. In conclusion, a year off between finishing school and going to college has a benefit of proper use of time but has some negative effects on student's performance as well.