In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative develoment?

These days, business owners advertising their products by emphasizing the newness offered from their brands. In my opinion, this should be perceived as a positive trend since it allows brands to enhance its uniqueness and push companies to continue innovating products or services. Firstly, to differentiate one product to another, a brand need to have a unique selling preposition, which possible to happen by communicating what is something new it offered through commercials. By claiming something new inside their products, it may make the product different and more appealing in the consumer’s eye. As a result, the product will be more acknowledged and most likely more people are going to buy the goods. On the other hand, although saying the product is “new” in some way may be considered as overclaim, it has positive impact in terms of the product development. It will push the owner of business to innovate or create a product or service that is different for the one that already exist. Therefore, consumer will have more choices when they are about to pick a product. To illustrate, currently, there is an increasing trend of beauty companies which is launching skincare products with various kind of ingredients in order to be the trend setter and market leader. In conclusion, stressing a sense of newness of products and services trough advertisement must be considered as a positive development. Besides it may help a brand to distinguish its products from other competitors, it will also advantage the consumer to have variety of products to pick which fit best to their preferences.